Home  >  News

ACI Foundation News Search

ACI Foundation News


2018-2019 ACI Foundation Fellowship and Scholarship Recipients Announced

posted on
2018-2019 ACI Foundation Fellowship and Scholarship Recipients Announced

FARMINGTON HILLS, Mich. (April 30, 2018) –The ACI Foundation is pleased to announce the recipients of its 2018-2019 Fellowships and Scholarships. Funded by generous donors and industry partners, a total of $155,000 in academic stipends was awarded to 19 deserving students from 17 different universities across North America. 

ACI Foundation Fellowships are offered to both undergraduate and graduate students studying at accredited American and Canadian universities. Fellowship recipients receive an industry mentor, expenses paid trips to three ACI Conventions, often an optional internship, recognition on ACI Foundation’s website and in Concrete International magazine, plus an academic stipend.  The 2018-2019 Fellowship recipients are:

Hope Hall, Oklahoma State University, ACI Presidents’ Fellowship

Hannah Patterson, Arizona State, Baker Student Fellowship (1)

Jonathan Lyle, Arizona State, Baker Student Fellowship (2)

Aaron Miller, University of Alabama, Barbara S. and W. Calvin McCall Carolinas Fellowship

Katelyn O’Quinn, University of Texas at Austin, Cagley Student Fellowship

Homero Sobrinho, University of New Orleans, Charles Pankow Foundation Student Fellowship

Bret Robertson, Oklahoma State University, Daniel W. Falconer Memorial Fellowship

Tyler Young, University of Louisiana at Lafayette, Darrell F. Elliott Louisiana Fellowship

Matthew David Burton, University of Cincinnati, Don Marks Memorial Fellowship

Grace Jackson, Valparaiso University, Richard D. Stehly Memorial Fellowship

Robert Devine, University of Notre Dame, Tribute to the Founders Fellowship

ACI Foundation Scholarships are offered to both undergraduate and graduate students and are offered to students worldwide. The 2018-2019 Scholarship recipients are:

Joseph Arehart, University of Colorado Boulder, ACI Scholarship (1)

Maranda Leggs, University of Oklahoma, ACI Scholarship (2)

Andrew Foerster, Kansas State University, Bertold E. Weinberg Scholarship

Jessica Richard, University of California, Berkeley, W. Gene Corley Scholarship

David Whitmore, Auburn University, Katharine & Bryant Mather Scholarship

Jael Wettach-Glosser, Portland State University, Schwing America Scholarship

Nicholas Rademacher, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology, Richard D. Stehly Memorial Scholarship

Bjorn Vors, University of Saskatchewan, Stewart C. Watson Memorial Scholarship

Applications for the ACI Foundation’s 2019-2020 Fellowships and Scholarships will become available July 1st, 2018, and will include a new fellowship specifically available to students studying in Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates. Fellowship applicates must be sponsored by an ACI faculty member.

ACI Foundation Fellowship and Scholarship awards are made possible through generous contributions by donors from the concrete community. Together, the Foundation and its supporters are strengthening the concrete industry by encouraging students a professional career in the field of concrete. The ACI Foundation is leading the way to ensure a sustainable, successful future of the concrete industry by intentional and focused investments in people, research and technology.  More information about each fellowship and scholarship is available at acifoundation.org.


The ACI Foundation was established in 1989 to promote progress, innovation, and collaboration and is a wholly owned and operated nonprofit subsidiary of the American Concrete Institute. Three councils make up the ACI Foundation: the Strategic Development Council, committed to resolving the issues of new technology acceptance within the concrete industry; the Concrete Research Council, which funds and assists in the research of new concrete technologies; and the Scholarship Council, which facilitates student fellowships and scholarships.

For more information, please contact:

Cameron Innis
Marketing Coordinator



| Return